Off the Richter…

Well I have arrived in Europe – got a couple of days in Madrid before heading south into the Andalucian mountains for a week.

Madrid is very hot! Quite warm here even now at about 9.30pm – still very much daylight outside. Went to a exhibition today – by a German artist called Gerhard Richter. Sonic Youth fans may remember the cover from Daydream Nation – it is a painting by Richter called ´Kerze´. The works I saw were amazing – he´d taken photographs and painted over the top of them – a couple of examples below…

You can find some examples at http://www.gerhard-richter.com/art/overpainted-photographs/.

Really cool stuff – would love to have a couple for the living room – but they are worth a mint! Lucky the exhibition was free…

5 thoughts on “Off the Richter…

  1. Your lastest song is an old repeat I hate to tell you……….Caste your mind back to the musical Grease (Yes, John Travolta & Olivia Newton John) Tell me more, tell me more, was it love at first sight? Tell me more, tell me more did she put up a fight?
    What say you?

  2. Tis me again, have I missed something here, what is this about a hospital visit??
    Best reply & let me know you are still in one piece.

    You’ve been a bit quiet on the site as of late.

    “You know my name, look up the number” (Beatles) go & find that in the Funk & Wagnell

    • Hi mum,

      Yes I am still alive, been away from the ‘puter for the last week or so. Will call sometime over the next week or so….

  3. Happy 31st Birthday, intrepid traveller.

    I had hopes of presenting you with a limerick….However…..writers block got the better of me, I wanted something to rhyme with Hobart &……………….

    So instead have a great Birthday, thinking of you, this being the shortest day of the
    year, actually you’ll get value this year, take an extra hour. Enjoy.

    Will leave you with some more useless words:
    Fracas, pendulous, castanets, akimbo, logarithm, mongoose, umberella & my personal favorite gobbledgook.

    Have a great day
    Mum & other family

    Reply

    • Thanks mum – have had a good day. On a plane for part of it, but we’re in Norway now. It is very nice and full of trees. Good times.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

